Transitions Optical Reveals 2013 Transitions Awards Finalists


Transitions Optical has named the finalists for its annual Transitions Awards program, which recognizes leading independent eyecare professionals and optical retailers in Canada for their year-long commitment to promoting eye health and Transitions® lenses. The finalists will be honoured, and the winners will be announced, during the 18thAnnualTransitionsAcademy event to be held January 26-29 at Disney’s Contemporary Resort in Orlando.

The three finalists for the fifth annual Transitions Eyecare Professional of the Year award are Sandy Koppé, O.D. from The Eye Care Group, with two locations in Edmonton, Alberta and one in St. Albert, Alberta (western region); Wael Yassein from The Eye Shoppe, based in Oshawa, Ontario (central region); and Pierre Vallée, O.D. from Clinique d’optométrie Pierre Vallée, based in Sherbrooke, Québec (eastern region).

Finalists for the second annual Transitions Retailer of the Year award include Costco Optical (a first-time finalist), which has over 60 locations across Canada; Loblaw Optical (a 2012 finalist), which has more than 130 locations in eight provinces; and Lunetterie New Look Eyewear (the 2012 winner), which has over 70 stores in Quebec and Ontario.

The Transitions Eyecare Professional of the Year and Transitions Retailer of the Year finalists were judged on their year-long commitment to photochromic growth; alignment to Transitions Optical and participation in programs and promotions, strategic marketing initiatives, education and training efforts, and community involvement.